What is the Road Safety Champion Program?

The Road Safety Champion Program is a certificate program designed to improve the safety training of those responsible for operating, maintaining, designing, and enforcing local roads. The long-term goal is to build a knowledgeable workforce that is motivated to implement safety improvements that reduce injuries and fatalities on rural and local roadways.

Training participants will complete a series of courses in core and specialized safety issues. When all requirements are met, participants will be awarded a Road Safety Champion Program Certificate. (Note: the certificate is not a degree or professional certification.)

Who can participate in the program?

The program is open to staff from transportation, public health and law enforcement agencies, who have an interest in or responsibility for roadway safety issues.  For example, at a transportation agency, this may include roadway construction, maintenance, design or traffic operations staff.  At a law enforcement agency, this may include incident management staff or patrol officers. At a public health agency, staff who manage car seat programs or impaired driving prevention programs may be interested.

Participants should have a working knowledge of roadway safety issues related to their agency and/or job responsibility. Field experience and other similar experience is encouraged.

How many courses are required?

For a Level 1 Certificate, participants will complete approximately 14 classes. Seven (7) courses will be in core safety issues such as “Anatomy of a Crash” and “Introduction to the Safety Analysis Process.” Participants will also complete up to 7 courses that correspond to their chosen career pathway (Note: the number of courses may vary per career pathway).  For example, if they are following the Construction and Maintenance Pathway, the courses will include topics like work zone safety, Traffic Incident Management (TIMs) Training, and flagger certification.

This graphic shows the trainings needed for Level 1 in the Road Safety Champion Program

What if I’ve completed some of these courses already?

Participants can obtain course credit for comparable training obtained from another source, which will count toward completion of the program. Course equivalency shall be determined by the credentialing host organization.

Who will be administering the program?

The program was set-up with the intention of having multiple host organizations across the country. The National Center for Rural Road Safety is currently providing “Train the Trainer” workshops for potential host organizations. If you are interested in being a host organization, find out more here

When and where will the program be available?

The program is scheduled to be piloted in Spring 2020 by the National Center for Rural Road Safety in conjunction with the MT and ID Local Technical Assistance (LTAP) Programs. If you live in MT or ID and are interested in becoming a Road Safety Champion and attending the pilots, click here.